Feb 052009
 

… everything I ever learnt about blogging, I learnt from Womens Weakly and No Idea. So when people put together lists of “interesting twitterers” and less interesting ones :P I rushed off to find a celebrity list. Here from The Times (I’ve simplified it, go look at their page for more details):

Famous Twits, the number of followers, link to twitter profile
1. Stephen Fry: 98616 http://twitter.com/stephenfry
2. Lance Armstrong: 53813 http://twitter.com/lancearmstrong
3. Britney Spears: 53290 http://twitter.com/britneyspears
4. Rick Sanchez: 48825 http://twitter.com/ricksanchezcnn
5. Shaquille O’Neill: 46296 http://twitter.com/THE_REAL_SHAQ
6. John Cleese: 44142 http://twitter.com/JohnCleese
7. Jonathan Ross: 43432 http://twitter.com/Wossy
8. Al Gore: 38351 http://twitter.com/algore
9. MC Hammer: 34042 http://twitter.com/MCHammer
10. John Hodgman: 32097 http://twitter.com/hodgman
11. Jimmy Fallon: 27163 http://twitter.com/jimmyfallon
12. Dave Matthews: 24064 http://twitter.com/DaveJMatthews
13. Neil Gaiman: 17705 http://twitter.com/neilhimself
14. Philip Schofield: 17291 http://twitter.com/Schofe
15. Russell Brand: 15673 http://twitter.com/rustyrockets
16 Alan Carr: 12,294 http://twitter.com/AlanCarr
17. Demi Moore: 11655 http://twitter.com/mrskutcher
18. Arnold Schwarzenegger: 11147 http://twitter.com/schwarzenegger
19. Jimmy Carr: 8827 http://twitter.com/jimmycarr
20. Kevin Smith: 8379 http://twitter.com/ThatKevinSmith
21. William Shatner: 7599 http://twitter.com/WilliamShatner
22. Snoop Doggy Dogg: 7549 https://twitter.com/snoopdogg
23. Karl Rove: 7233 http://twitter.com/KarlRove
24. Paulo Coelho: 5722 http://twitter.com/paulocoelho
25. David Mitchell: 5465 http://twitter.com/RealDMitchell
26. Soulja Boy: 5425 http://twitter.com/souljaboytellem
27. Charlie Brooker: 5338 http://twitter.com/charltonbrooker
28. Luke Wilson: 4809 http://twitter.com/LukeWilson
29. Andy Murray: 4758 http://twitter.com/andy_murray
30. Rob Brydon: 4673 http://twitter.com/RealRobBrydon
31. Joe Trippi: 4644 http://twitter.com/JoeTrippi
32. Graham Linehan: 4071 http://twitter.com/Glinner
33. Andi Peters: 4021 http://twitter.com/xxandip
34. Will Carling: 3115 http://twitter.com/willcarling
35. Boris Johnson: 2281 http://twitter.com/MayorOfLondon
36. Michael Phelps: 2239 http://twitter.com/Michael_Phelps
37. Jamie Oliver: 2140 http://twitter.com/Jamie_Oliver
38. Elijah Wood: 2118 http://twitter.com/elijahwood
39. Tim Minchin: 1965 http://twitter.com/timminchin
40. Rachel Bilson: 1720 http://twitter.com/rachel_bilson
41. Mischa Barton: 1672 http://twitter.com/MischaBarton
42. Yoko Ono: 1199 http://twitter.com/yokoono
43. Eli Manning: 1328 http://twitter.com/elimanning
44. Regina Spektor: 1293 http://twitter.com/reginaspektor
45. George Lucas: 973 http://twitter.com/George_Lucas
46. Jamie Cullum: 929 http://twitter.com/jamiecullum
47. Xzibit: 661 http://twitter.com/mrxtothaz
48. Richard Herring: 513 http://twitter.com/Herring1967
49. Roots Manuva: 388 http://twitter.com/rootsmanuva
50. Toby Young: 103 http://twitter.com/toadmeister4

So, who are Australia’s Celebrity Twitterers?

mark-pesceMark Pesce, on a train with much loved Macintosh

  1. Mark Pesce, New Inventors http://twitter.com/mpesce
  2. Malcolm Turnbull, Leader of the Opposition http://twitter.com/turnbullmalcolm
  3. Stilgherrian, God amongst men http://twitter.com/stilgherrian
  4. Lance Armstrong ( as above)
  5. FAKE!! TomPetrovski Commsec late night news on Channel Ten http://twitter.com/TomPetrovski
  6. The Grates, Band http://twitter.com/thegrates (thanks @barrysaunders )
  7. Tim Minchin (as above) (thanks @joshsharp)
  8. Guy Sebastien Aussie Idol winner http://twitter.com/guysebastian (thanks @warwraith)
  9. School of Rock *laughs* http://twitter.com/schoolofrock (thanks @servantofchaos)
  10. Hamish and Andy http://twitter.com/hamishandandy

Who else? Any soap stars, minor B grade stars, Cafe Tropicana hangers on?   Kevin Rudd is not on my list in the same way that Obama is not on The Times list – it has to be really them, not an aide. So none of those faux Agency run Twitter accounts for musicians/bands either. Agreed?  I noticed that Drew Barrymore only twittered a few times, and even though Ev helped her, she stopped. Niall Cook at Hill and Knowlton has a good take on the “celebrity broadcasting following but not following back/no engagement” thing. He calls it Twitter losing it’s cool.

By the way, this is for a film/tv/writers conference I am doing later in the year, but feel free to contribute, use whatever. Oh, and tell New Idea that I am available to write ‘celebrity tweets” for them. :P

Mar 032008
 

Names are falling off my blogroll. One minute Jim Benson was there, on my sidebar, the next minute, crying into my email. So I am moving the blogroll, such as it is, on here and then linking to the sidebar: Real Life Blogroll I’m a hunter and gatherer of blogs so it would be a waste of time me keeping a blogroll. I’m not particularly faithful to any of them. Sorry, the good Lord just made me that way. But here’s the blogroll of bloggers I have met in real life, who came out of the closet and said “YES! Continue Reading…

Feb 112008
 

w00t we make a difference! Mark Pesce started it, me and a handful of others have been blogging about it. Ajay and Myles even established a mashup ICanHazMeraki.Net (why isn’t it embeddable? Grrr ajay!) Anyway, Sydney Morning Herald has caught on: A group of socially networked geeks hopes to bring free wi-fi to the masses, reports Simon Sharwood. FRUSTRATED by the NSW Government’s stalled free wi-fi project, a group of Facebookers have decided to start their own. Yep Aussie Facebookers might be wasting $5 million of employers money, but at least they are doing it bringing down telecommunications companies It Continue Reading…

Feb 032008
 

EDIT: See the Internet’s votes for the 1000 strategists here on Bloggerati.com.au and add your own vote. Also nominate someone yourself (Submit tab): it probably won’t do anything but at least you feel like you had a say Glyn Davis Summit Chairman and Kevin Rudd Prime Minister 2.0 is looking for Australia’s brightest and best to talk about the decade ahead and strategy. Video here that I can’t embed. The Australia 2020 Summit announced by Prime Minister Kevin Rudd will examine 10 issues facing the nation: • Future directions for the economy, including education, skills, training, science and innovation • Continue Reading…

Jul 012007
 

A month or so ago, I spoke at WebJam about how frustrating it was that organisations setting the agenda for social networks are industry-based (e.g. media and advertising) and that very few are protecting everyday users/members. Add to that, none of these industry groups really provide an online community for their members (industry or otherwise) one wonders how they can protect our social media initiatives when they aren’t participating and don’t “get” it themselves. And industry organisation simply can’t take care of consumer generated content as well as their own needs! So I’m delighted to be part of a ACMA Continue Reading…

Mar 202007
 

To make sure that all the things I learnt at ASTRA last Thursday don’t go in one ear and fly out the other – as is their wont – I’m heading off for an evening of schmoozing at The Shelbourne: Want to start up your own TV station? With improvements in bandwidth and a doubling of broadband subscribers over the last year, it’s possible to broadcast video over the internet and capture a share of the market. With clever technology, broadband subscribers can enjoy quality video even when it’s played through a regular television set. Viewers are abandoning traditional free-to-air Continue Reading…

Dec 062005
 

On Monday December 5th, Ross Levinsohn, President of Fox Interactive Media, shed light on the strategy behind his company’s high profile acquisition of sites like IGN and Myspace.com in “Storming the Walls: Media Breakout!” You can read up more fully here. The key points, as far as I understand, were that young people don’t read newspapers or watch much telly. That Fox’s antiquated infrastructure for circulation, advertising etc needs to be revamped to allow seemless purchasing across multiple sites. That there’s a whole mess around distribution rights and whether content broadcast on tv can be broadcast on the Internet. And Continue Reading…

Nov 182005
 

Cool. Erietta (from Cyberworx) and I moseyed on down to Mintners to catch Mark Pesce (futurist), Jonathan Nicholas (Inspire), Mike Walsh (News Corp) and Jennifer Wilson (HWW).It was a great opportunity for me to understand where Australia is in the move towards participatory journalism and marketing. Mark Pesce is an interesting and dynamic speaker. After the presentation, I tried to give him a dollar for his hyperpeople bittorrent – I figured, what the hell, if there is no easy way to pay for articles and bytes on the ‘net, I’ll resort to real life transactions. But he gave it back Continue Reading…

%d bloggers like this: